

RESOLUTION COMMENDING VELMA JACKSON'S 20 PLUS CLUB MEMBERS

WHEREAS, the ACT is a national college admissions examination that consists of subject area tests in English, Mathematics, Reading, and Science; and

WHEREAS, an ACT score provides an indicator of college readiness and the score in each of the subtests correspond to skills in entry-level college courses in English, algebra, social science, humanities, and biology; and

WHEREAS, each year Velma Jackson High School recognizes the outstanding academic achievement of students who scored a 20 or higher on the ACT; and

WHEREAS, the following members of the 2017 Velma Jackson High School's 20 Plus Club have proven they are college ready:

Christopher Johnson – 9 th Grade	Tamia Brewster – 10 th Grade
Myia Bacon – 11 th Grade	Mieyah Garrett – 11 th Grade
Thomas Gee – 11 th Grade	Christasia Holmes – 11 th Grade
Tamera Jackson – 11 th Grade	Derrick Jobe – 11 th Grade
Ariel Johnson – 11 th Grade	Dyrell Lyles – 11 th Grade
Michael Rosenthall – 11 th Grade	Samuel Smith – 11 th Grade
Malcolm Walker – 11 th Grade	Jamuel Brooks – 12 th Grade
Quentin Gray – 12 th Grade	Nolle Jennings – 12 th Grade
Susan Johnson – 12 th Grade	Kentesa Linn − 12 th Grade
John Simpson – 12 th Grade	Shannon Sims – 12 th Grade
Maleria White – 12 th Grade	

WHEREAS, Supervisor Paul Griffin and the entire Madison County Board of Supervisors wish to commend the members of the 20 Plus Club for their hard-work and dedication to their education and to wish them all the very best in their future endeavors; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors believes that the achievements of the Velma Jackson 20 Plus Club represents just another testament to the superior instruction and the dedication of teachers, coaches, staff, and administration in all of our Madison County schools.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Madison County Board of Supervisors recognizes, commends, and proudly congratulates the Velma Jackson 20 Plus Club for their outstanding academic achievements.		
Mr. Paul Griffin did offer and	did second a motion to adopt the	
above and foregoing Resolution. The vote on the matter being as follows:		
Supervisor Trey Baxter	Aye	
Supervisor Shelia Jones	Aye	
Supervisor Gerald Steen	Aye	
Supervisor David Bishop	Ave	
Supervisor Paul Griffin	Aye	
the motion carried unanimously and said Resolution was and is hereby adopted.		
RESOLVED, on this the 1st day of May, 2017.		
Ronny Lott, Chancery Clerk	Trey Baxter, President	